Enspect is a complete package for predicting the output of energy harvesting systems

Software last updated
6th Aug 2015


Developed as a project of the School of Electronics and Computer Science at the University of Southampton, Enspect aims to predict the power output of an energy harvesting system. It features a data colleciton unit which logs environmental data, and an analysis tool which processes this data to make predictions. Currently, an advanced photovoltaic cell model and simple thermoelectric generator model are provided.

Data Collection Unit

Photo of Data Collection Unit

Envrionmental data is collected via sensor modules collected to a central logger unit. Sensor modules were developed to allow light irradiance modelling for solar cells and temperature sensors for thermoelectric generators. Data is logged in CSV format to a standard SD card.

  • Controlled wirelessly via Bluetooth.
  • Long battery life.
  • Modular plug-and-play design allows new sensors to be developed.

Analysis Tool

Screenshot of analysis UI

Complementing the data collection unit is an easy to use graphical simulation tool, able to predict power outputs from harvesters and take into account the power profile of the consuming device and any battery storage.

  • Developed in MATLAB.
  • Able to compare any number of system configurations.
  • Models photovoltaic cells and thermoelectric generators.
  • Gives a range of graphical and tabular outputs.

More details


  • Nick Tinsley Nick Tinsley ntinsley@ecs.soton.ac.uk
  • Stuart Witts Stuart Witts switts@ecs.soton.ac.uk
  • Jacob Ansell Jacob Ansell jansell@ecs.soton.ac.uk
  • Emily Barnes Emily Barnes ebarnes@ecs.soton.ac.uk
  • Simeon Jenkins Simeon Jenkins sjenkins@ecs.soton.ac.uk
  • Dhanushan Raveendran Dhanushan Raveendran draveendran@ecs.soton.ac.uk
  • Dr. Alex Weddell Dr. Alex Weddell asw@ecs.soton.ac.uk
    ECS Profile
  • Dr. Geoff Merrett Dr. Geoff Merrett gvm@ecs.soton.ac.uk
    ECS Profile

If you have any questions about the project, be sure to get in touch!